Australian Government Solicitor


    View the AGS Twitter account    Visit the AGS YouTube channel     Visit the AGS LinkedIn page
Office of General Counsel  

Office of General Counsel

AGS’s Office of General Counsel (OGC) specialises in the provision of legal advice and assistance to the Commonwealth spanning the spectrum of the Commonwealth’s activities across all portfolios.  OGC’s team of over 75 lawyers (including a large number of outposted lawyers) has specialist expertise in constitutional and public law, statutory interpretation and the development, implementation and administration of legislation and the team includes Australia’s leading specialists on constitutional law, public international law and national security law. As well as providing constitutional advice, OGC specialises in acting for the Commonwealth in constitutional litigation and coordinating the conduct of other cases involving constitutional issues. 

Please note: All new requests for advice should be directed to either Leo Hardiman (T 02 6253 7074) or Darryl Everett (T 02 6253 7408).


Professional leaders

  Guy Aitken Leo Hardiman Damien Page
  Guy Aitken QC
Chief General Counsel
T 02 6253 7084
Leo Hardiman
Deputy General Counsel
T 02 6253 7074
Damian Page
Deputy General Counsel
T 02 6253 7053


National Leader and Manager

  Leo Hardiman Darryl Wookey  
  Leo Hardiman
National Leader
T 02 6253 7074
Darryl Everett
National Manager
T 02 6253 7408


Team leaders

  Andrew Buckland Genevieve Ebbec k Bridget Gilmour-Walsh
  Andrew Buckland
Constitutional Litigation
T 02 6253 7024
Genevieve Ebbeck
People, Security and Information
T 02 6253 7053
Bridget Gilmour-Walsh
Employment, Entitlements and Money
T 02 6253 7563


  Kathryn Graham    
  Kathryn Graham
Energy, Environment and Regulation
T 02 6253 7167