Search site:

Attorney-General's Portfolio
Indigenous Statement of Commitment

Print PDF

The Attorney-General's Portfolio acknowledges Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first Australians.

We are committed to the implementation of practical actions to overcome the social, economic and educational inequities experienced by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

In partnership with communities, our employees and other government agencies, we will work to improve service delivery outcomes and support for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. We also commit to ensuring mutually beneficial outcomes for communities by building and maintaining relationships at the local level.

We are committed to working together as a Portfolio to achieve the Australian Government's goal of increasing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander employment in the Commonwealth public sector to 2.7% by 2015. The Portfolio commits to improving training and career development opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander employees.

We commit to increasing our employees' understanding, knowledge and appreciation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures through increased cultural sharing programs.

What we will do

  • Ensure cultural capability across the Portfolio by recognising, promoting and supporting a strong and positive view of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander identity and culture.
  • Work in partnership across the Portfolio to establish a workforce that reflects the communities in which we live and work.
  • Create opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples to develop their careers across the Attorney-General's Portfolio agencies.
  • Work in partnership with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the development and design of Portfolio policies and services.
  • Build and model respect, understanding and appreciation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and cultures in the delivery of internal and external services.
  • Encourage the development and implementation of agency-specific Reconciliation Action Plans. These plans will incorporate consultation with Reconciliation Australia, all employees, and relevant stakeholders.

Mr Roger Wilkins AO
Secretary, Attorney-General's Department

Mr Philip Kellow
Registrar, Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Mr Philip Moss
Integrity Commissioner, Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity

Mr John Lawler APM
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Crime Commission

Mr Michael Carmody AO
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Customs and Border Protection Service

Mr Tony Negus APM
Commissioner, Australian Federal Police

The Hon Catherine Branson QC
President and Human Rights Commissioner, Australian Human Rights Commission

Dr Adam M Tomison
Director and Chief Executive, Australian Institute of Criminology

Professor Rosalind Croucher
President, Australian Law Reform Commission

Mr David T Irvine AO
Director-General, Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr John L Schmidt
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre

Mr Doug Smith APM
Chief Executive Officer, CrimTrac Agency

Mr Richard Foster PSM
Chief Executive Officer, Family Court of Australia
Acting Chief Executive Officer, Federal Magistrates Court of Australia

Mr Warwick Soden
Registrar, Federal Court of Australia

Mr Ian Govey
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Government Solicitor

Ms Veronique Ingram
Chief Executive and Inspector-General in Bankruptcy, Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia

Ms Stephanie Fryer-Smith
Registrar and Chief Executive Officer, National Native Title Tribunal

Mr Christopher Craigie SC
Director of Public Prosecutions, Office of the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

Mr Peter Quiggin PSM
First Parliamentary Counsel, Office of Parliamentary Counsel

Graphic fragment from:
Talk and I will hear you. Listen and I will guide you. Artwork by Miyuki Dickerson