Organisation chart

AGS organisational structure

AGS is a group within the Australian Government Attorney-General’s Department. See the Department’s organisation chart.

Secretary of the Attorney-General’s Department
Katherine Jones PSM
The Australian Government Solicitor (A/g)
Tim Begbie KC
National Practice Manager (A/g)
Nerida Nelson
Office of General Counsel (OGC) AGS Dispute Resolution AGS Commercial

National Leader
Kathryn Graham

National Manager
Emily McBride

Assistant National Manager
Toni Claydon

Team Leaders 
Niamh Lenagh-Maguire (Constitutional Litigation Unit)
Helga Mossop (People, Security and Information)
Sacha Moran (Energy, Environment and Regulation)
Elen Perdikogiannis (Employment, Entitlements and Money)

Chief General Counsel
Andrew Buckland

Deputy Chief General Counsel
Damian Page

Senior General Counsel
Susie Brown
Dylan Bushnell (A/g)
Adam Cason
Andrew Chapman
Helen Chisholm
Ian Deane PSM
Steffen Etherton
Alice Kingsland
Anna Lehane
Gavin Loughton
Leah Lyons
Anna Lukeman
Paul Marshall
Tara McNeilly
Helga Mossop
Elen Perdikogiannis
Greg Prutej
Elizabeth Southwood
Emilie Sutton
Simon Thornton
Piccolo Willoughby

National Leader
Matthew Blunn

National Manager
Meredith Allen (A/g)
Rebecca Daumont (Legal Practice Technology and Innovation)

Assistant National Manager
Daniel Ryan (A/g)

Team Leaders
Hervee Dejean (Administrative law)
Brooke Griffin (Administrative law)
Emma Gill (Civil claims)
Louise Buchanan (Civil claims)
Katrina Close (Civil regulation)
Fiona Dempsey (Employment and entitlements)
Peter Melican (In-house Counsel)
Kristy Alexander (Law enforcement)
Matthew Walsh (Tax)

Professional Leaders

Chief Counsel Dispute Resolution
Tim Begbie KC

Chief Solicitor Dispute Resolution
Simon Daley PSM

Deputy Chief Solicitor Dispute Resolution
Katrina Close
Justin Davidson
Emily Nance
Paul Vermeesch

Special Counsel
Andras Markus (Administrative law)
Matthew Walsh (Tax disputes)


National Leader
Nick Terry

National Manager
Phil Sedgley-Perryman

Assistant National Manager
Catherine Fallon

Team Leaders
Stuart Hilton (Melbourne/Adelaide)
Clare Derix (Canberra)
Simon Lewis (Sydney/Brisbane)
Mieke Dixon (Perth/Darwin)

Professional Leaders

Chief Counsel Commercial
Cathy Reid PSM

Deputy General Counsel Commercial
Tony Beal
Garth Cooke
Kenneth Eagle
Teresa Miraglia

Special Counsel 
Bill Napier

Property Practice Leader
Teresa Miraglia


Interstate client relations and local leadership
AGS Adelaide

Nerida Nelson
AGS Brisbane

Fiona Dempsey
AGS Canberra

Emily McBride
AGS Darwin

Samuel Witton
AGS Hobart

Eileen Webb
AGS Melbourne

Katrina Close

Jennifer Flinn
AGS Sydney

Jane Supit


Cross practice services
Practice Services
National Manager
Geetha Nair
Library Services
National Manager
Yvonne Suter
Corporate Adviser
Sonali Rajanayagam


Specialist support services
Client Services
National Manager
Rose Coburn
Financial Services
AGS Chief Financial Officer
Stuart Rankin
HR Services
Assistant Secretary
Bridie Dawson
Business Services
National Manager
Steven Minter
IT Services
A/g Chief Information Officer
Michael Harrison