Appointments to the High Court of Australia

On 28 October the Honourable Justice Simon Steward and the Honourable Justice Jacqueline Gleeson were appointed as Justices of the High Court of Australia by His Excellency the Governor-General.

Justice Steward and Justice Gleeson will fill the roles respectively vacated by the Honourable Justice Geoffrey Nettle AC on 30 November 2020 and the Honourable Justice Virginia Bell AC on 28 February 2021. A comprehensive career summary of the 2 newest High Court Justices is included in the Prime Minister’s media release.

The appointment of Justice Gleeson is of particular note to AGS, as she worked with us for a number of years earlier in her distinguished career. Justice Gleeson worked with AGS from 2003, commencing as a Senior Executive Lawyer in the DR Enforcement and Regulation team. She also spent time with the AGS Tax team. Justice Gleeson left AGS in 2007 to return to the Bar. Her Honour was appointed Senior Counsel in 2012.

AGS congratulates Justice Steward and Justice Gleeson on their appointments as Justices of the High Court of Australia.

This announcement follows on from the recent appointment of 3 senior AGS lawyers as Commonwealth Queen’s Counsel.